Curious about widget renderer system

Started by AdesII, 18 November 2016, 00:21:10

AdesII

Hi, i'm new in the forum and TGUI users community. I hope it will be a great journey with all of you.
I'm a real beginner ( less than 2 weeks ) so i beg for your tolerance :).

Actually, i'm here because i discovered the widget renderer system on late version ( unlike v0.6.10 ). I guess it's about optimising. I looked the source code but it's kind of confusing for me.

Maybe some people can explain me the main idea of this system ( i think it's about template, but i didn't get the link between renderer files [RendererDefines,WidgetRenderer]).

Thank you. And excuse my english, hope i'm clear in my request ahah !

AdesII

texus

The goal of the renderers was to keep the logic code of a widget and the way it is displayed separate making the code a bit more modular.

It didn't entirely work out like planned. In 0.7 the rendering system was written and there was one renderer instance per widget. So basically the only use of the renderers was keeping the widget interface smaller (to change how the widget works there are functions that you call as widget->abc() while to change how the widget looks you call widget->getRenderer()->xyz()).

In 0.8-dev it got rewritten and the renderers are now shared between widgets. The renderers just store how you want the widget to look while the widget still does everything including drawing itself.

So there are 2 things you need to know about how they work:
1) They just contain the setters for when you want to change something. To change e.g. the text color of a button you can do button->getRenderer()->setTextColor(sf::Color::Red);
2) In 0.8-dev the renderers are shared between widgets. If you got the renderer from a theme, you can change how all the widgets look with a single function call to the renderer.