Binding function calls in tgui::SignalWidgetBase::connect()

Started by Hexade, 09 August 2019, 21:24:46

Hexade

Hi,

I am having trouble understanding how to use std::bind to call a function as part of tgui::SignalWidgetBase::connect(). I was looking at the "Introduction to signals" tutorial for version 0.7 where you show this example (It's probably worth noting that I am using version 0.8.5):

int getNum() { return 5; }

void func1(int i);
void func2(int value);

picture->connect("clicked", func1, std::bind(getNum));
button->connect("pressed", func2, std::bind(&tgui::Slider::getValue, slider));

My need for std::bind is a bit more complex than this example and this is my first time using std::bind so I have been spending the day learning about std::bind and std::function. This is what my function looks like at the moment:

void TitleMenuButton::SetFunctions(bool& button_selected, std::string& current_button, std::function<Button&(std::string)> get_button_function) {

button_image->connect("MouseEntered", &TitleMenuButton::ButtonFocused, this, std::ref(button_selected), std::ref(current_button), std::bind(get_button_function, current_button));
button_image->connect("MouseLeft", &TitleMenuButton::ButtonUnfocused, this, std::ref(button_selected), std::ref(current_button));

}

This function belongs to the TitleMenuButton class that stores a tgui::Picture (button_image), the function simply calls connect() on the tgui::Picture and connects the TitleMenuButton::ButtonFocused() and TitleMenuButton::ButtonUnfocused() functions. The issue lies with my attempt at using std::bind to bind the function ButtonList::GetButton().

This function belongs to a ButtonList class that stores x amount of TitleMenuButtons. It is designed to make creating the buttons much faster and easier, so this TitleMenuButton::SetFunctions() function is called from within the ButtonList class as such: