Code::Blocks

Started by johnhoth, 10 May 2018, 13:46:57

johnhoth

Hi, i am new at sfml and tgui.

I haven't any expirience in project programming only in programming competitions (codeforces.com).

My school project is local network sfml chat.

But i can't build my project using tgui.

I am interested in instuction how to make codeblocks gui project (it should do nothing).

Thank you for answering.

P.S. sorry for my french english i am from Moscow

texus

QuoteBut i can't build my project using tgui.
You should provide more details about what isn't working exactly. If the problem is with setting up codeblocks then have a look at the following tutorial: https://tgui.eu/tutorials/v0.7/codeblocks-precompiled/

In case you have problems with building the library:
SFML 2.5 was just released and comes with a precompiled library for TDM GCC 5.1 (which is the compiler that Code::Blocks 17.12 uses by default). There should be a corresponding precompiled TGUI library on my download page later today, but for now you can download it directly from this link: TGUI-0.7.7-mingw-5.1.0-tdm-32bit-for-SFML-2.5.0.zip

johnhoth

1) Should i make an empty project?

2) Is your link for non-dll stuff?

texus

1)
Yes, just create an empty project and add a new file to it (e.g. using File > New > Empty File in the menu bar).
Then go into the settings (Project > "Build Options..." in menu bar) and configure it to find SFML and TGUI as described in https://www.sfml-dev.org/tutorials/2.5/start-cb.php and the link I gave earlier.

2)
The link is for either. For TGUI the only difference is the "-s" behind the filename. For SFML (see link in previous part of this post) it makes a bigger difference, but that tutorial also explains what you must do. If you link statically (no dlls) then you must also add the SFML dependencies (list is in the tutorial) to the linker options. When linking dynamically (with dlls) you must copy the sfml and tgui dlls next to the executable in order to run it.